Dheeraj Singh was sworn in as CJ of AP High Court

The Andhra Pradesh High Court’s new Chief Justice, Justice Dheeraj Singh Thakur, took the oath of office. Governor Abdul Nazir gave him the oath during a ceremony held at Tummalapally Kalakshetra in Vijayawada. Judges from the High Court joined CM Jagan, Opposition Leader Chandrababu, and numerous other ministers and high officials at this event. It is well known that PK Misra, who up until recently held the position of Chief Justice of the Andhra Pradesh High Court, has been elevated to the Supreme Court.

While serving as Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court, Justice Dheeraj Singh was promoted and moved to AP. He is a Jammu and Kashmiri native. Both his father and brother were judges. In the legal community, he is regarded as the most compliant, uncontentious, and capable individual. ( Telangana: Brother killed his sister because she posted videos on YouTube. )

He is Justice TS Thakur’s younger brother, a former chief justice of the Supreme Court. Justice Dheeraj Singh, who was born on April 25, 1964, was admitted to the Delhi and Jammu and Kashmir Bar Councils on October 18, 1989. He was chosen to serve as a judge of the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir on March 8, 2013, which occurred in 2011. served after being transferred to the Bombay High Court on June 10, 2022.

He held onto the second spot in the Bombay High Court till recently. He is now the sixth Chief Justice of the AP High Court after being promoted. On April 24, 2026, he will step down as Chief Justice of the High Court. There is currently no judge from the state of Jammu & Kashmir in the Supreme Court. Therefore, in the interim, the prospect of appealing his promotion to the Supreme Court exists. ( Heavy Rains Effect: Trains canceled in South Central Railway )

Additionally, the Acting Chief Justice (ACJ), Justice Akula Venkata Seshasai, will continue to serve as number 2 going forward. Legal experts predict that he will soon be named Chief Justice of a different State High Court.

He received flowers and congratulations from Governor Abdul Nazir, Chief Minister Jagan, and Justice Dheeraj Singh. After taking the oath, he signed the papers attesting to his acceptance of the duties. CM Jagan congratulated Dheeraj Singh on taking the oath to become the new CJ. The swearing-in ceremony was attended by the leader of the opposition, Chandrababu, High Court Judges, deputy chief minister Budi Muthyalanaidu, ministers Taneti Vanitha and Ambati Rambabu, council chairman Koye Mosen Raju, deputy chairman Zakia, and other guests. CJ was congratulated on the occasion by everyone.

Back to top button