Oommen Chandy: Former Kerala CM Oommen Chandy passed away

Oommen Chandy: Senior Congress leader and former Kerala Chief Minister Oomen Chandy (79) passed away due to illness. He was suffering from health problems for some time and breathed his last while undergoing treatment in Bangalore. 

Former Kerala Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Oommen Chandy (79) has passed away. He was suffering from illness for some time and breathed his last while undergoing treatment in Bangalore. This was confirmed by his son. Earlier he was admitted to the hospital and treated for throat problems. Later, he was admitted to a private hospital in Bangalore for the best treatment.

Former Kerala CM Oommen Chandy passed away today morning

Oomen Chandy was born on 31 October 1943 in Kumarakom village of Kottayam district. Chandy, who started his political career as an ordinary worker, remained loyal to the party leadership with his honesty and integrity. 

Read Also: Youtuber Income: IT raids on YouTuber’s home who earned ₹crore from videos

At the age of 27, he contested the assembly elections for the first time in 1970 from Poothupalli and won. Never looked back. He won 12 times as an MLA. All times he won from Putupalli constituency. Chandy first served as a minister in K. Karunakaran’s cabinet in 1977. He served as Chief Minister twice (2004-2006, 2011-2016). He has more than five decades of political experience and has never changed his party.

After serving as KSU president, he directly contested from Puthuppalli seat as MLA and won. Since 1970, he has been the MLA of Putupalli Assembly Constituency. He became MLA 12 times in 1970, 1977, 1980, 1982, 1987, 1991, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011, 2016, 2021.

 In addition to giving high priority to public health, steps towards solving the problem of unemployment, as well as efforts to make Thiruvananthapuram a smart city, he brought many notable reforms during his tenure. 

On June 6, 2018, then Congress President Rahul Gandhi handed over the responsibility of Andhra Pradesh to Oomen Chandy as the in-charge of AICC (All India Congress Committee). 

Back to top button